Are you looking for information about Alaska automobile tint laws? This article will walk you through Alaska’s window tinting law. It will cover the key numbers you need to know when installing window tint as well as in-depth coverage on the law.
★ ★ ★
Auto Parts & Accessories
Attention: we always advise you to turn to your local authorities last, in order to ensure that the information you have reflects the laws enforced in your specific area!
Alaska window tint law — key facts
- Year law enacted: 1994
- Tint length on front windshield: 5 inches below AS-1 line
- Front side window VLT: 70%
- Back side window VLT: 40%
- Back windshield VLT: 40%
- Front side window reflectivity: No metallic or mirrored appearance
- Back side window reflectivity: No metallic or mirrored appearance
- Restricted colors: red, amber, yellow
- Medical exemption: yes
- Tolerance: not stated
What the Law Says
Alaska window tinting law can be found in Alaska’s Administrative Code 13 AAC 04.223, which provides in relevant part:
Tinted vehicle windows
- A person may not drive a motor vehicle on a highway, public road, street, or parking lot with mirrored tinting material on any window of the vehicle. Except as provided in this section, a person may not drive a motor vehicle on a highway, public road, street or parking lot with aftermarket tinting material or aftermarket striping material on any window of the vehicle.
- Aftermarket tinting of vehicle windows is allowed as follows:
the front windshield may have a strip of tinting material applied to the top edge, known in the industry as an “eyebrow,” which does not extend downward more than five inches from the top of the glass;
the driver and front passenger side windows may have tinting material that permits at least 70 percent light transmittance;
the rear door windows, quarter glasses, and back glasses may have tinting material that permits at least 40 percent light transmittance…
What This Means
In Alaska, mirrored tinting is illegal and cannot be applied to any window of the vehicle. Any type of tinting on the front window, except a strip 5 inches wide or less, applied at the top edge is also illegal. Front side windows may have tinting that allows at least 70% of the light through, and back side windows as well as the rear windshield may have tinting that allows at least 40% of the light through.
The code also provides that in order to be cited for having illegal window tinting, the light transmittance must be measured using measuring device, the accuracy of which has been certified by the manufacturer. As in other states, tinting measured at plus or minus 3% of the allowed light transmission is considered legal. So for example, if your rear windshield only allows 37% of the light through, instead of the required 40%, you will not be cited for a violation.
Related: Alabama Window Tint — Law & VLT%
Exceptions to the Window Tinting Law
Alaska window tinting law also provides that the windows may have tinting that permits less light through if the driver or a frequent passenger has a medical condition which requires them to be shielded from the direct rays of the sun, so long as the person keeps an annual certification by a physical licensed in Alaska in the vehicle.
A tinted rear window is exempt from the statute, if the owner of the vehicle has proof that the tinting was installed before July 1, 1994 and the vehicle is equipped with both driver and passenger-side rearview mirrors.
Window tinting in Alaska must be green, gray, bronze, or neutral smoke in color or a sun reflective auto film.
The code defines “light transmittance” as the ratio, expressed as a percentage, of the amount of total light that is allowed to pass through the window to the amount of total light falling on the window.
Sources: 13 AAC 04.223